Fact Sheet: **Texas** Statewide Elected Constitutional Officers:

Aug/2007

-								
Governor		Rick Perry (R) 2000-			St Rep 84-90;Ag Com 90-98;Lt G 99-00			
Lieutenant Governor		David Dewhurst (R) 2003-			Land Com 1999-2003			
Comptroller		Susan Combs (R) 2007-		7-	St Rep 1995-99; Ag Com 1999-2007			
Attorney General		Greg Abbott (R) 2003-			Texas St Sup Ct 1995-2003			
Land Commissioner		Jerry Patterson (R) 2003-			St Sen 1993-99			
Ag Commissioner		Todd Staples (Todd Staples (R) 2007-		St Sen 2001-07			
Railroad Comr	nission has 3 me	mbers, all Repu	blicans,	1 woma	n, 1 Lat			
State Legislature 2-year terms for House; 4-year terms for Senate:								
House: 150 Members Senate: 31 Members								
69 Dem/ 81 Rep		11 Dem/ 20 Re			8-1-13-F			
32 women/118 men		4 women/27 m	en				ERES MARTIN	
13 Af-Am/30 L	atinos	2 Af-Am/7 Latir	าดร					
Congressional Delegation:								
Sr. Senator				St Rep 73-77; ran for US Rep 82; St Treas 91-93				
Jr. Senator	John Cornyn (R) 2003-			TX St Sup Ct 1990-97; TX Att Gen 1997-2003				
1 st Dis Rep	Louie Gohmert (R) 2005-			District Judge 1992-2005				
2 nd Dis Rep	Ted Poe (R) 2005-			District Judge 1981-2005				
3 rd Dis Rep	Sam Johnson (R) 1991-			St Rep 1981-91				
4 th Dis Rep	Ralph M. Hall (St Rep 1963-73; Switched D to R in 2005						
5 th Dis Rep	Jeb Hensarling (R) 2005-							
6 th Dis Rep	Joe Barton (R) 1985-			ran for US Sen in 1993				
7 th Dis Rep	John Culberson (R) 2001			St Rep 1987-2001				
8 th Dis Rep	Kevin Brady (R) 1997-			St Rep 1991-97				
9 th Dis Rep	Al Green (Ď) 2005-							
10 th Dis Rep	Michael McĆaul (R) 2005-							
11 th Dis Rep	Mike Conaway (R) 2005-			ran for US Rep 2003				
12 th Dis Rep	Kay Granger (I	Ft. Worth City Council 1989-91; mayor 1991-96						
13 th Dis Rep	Mac Thornberry (R) 1995-							
14 th Dis Rep				ran US Rep 1972, 1978; US Rep 1976; 1979-85;				
15 th Dis Rep				TX Bd of Ed 1975-95				
16 th Dis Rep	Silvestre Reyes (D) 1997-							
17 th Dis Rep	Chet Edwards (D) 1991-			ran for US Rep 1978; St Sen 1983-90				
18 th Dis Rep	Dis Rep Shelia Jackson Lee (D) 1995-			Judge 1987-90; Houston City Council 1990-94				
19 th Dis Rep	s Rep Randy Neugebauer (R) 2003-			Lubbock City Council 1992-98				
20 th Dis Rep	Charlie Gonzalez (D) 1999-			District Judge 1991-99				
21 st Dis Rep	Lamar S. Smith (R) 1987			St Rep 1981-83; Bexar County Com 1982-85				
22 nd Dis Rep	Nick Lampson (D) 2007-			Tax Assessor 1977-95; US Rep 1997-2005				
23 rd Dis Rep	Ciro Rodriguez (Ď) 2007-			St Rep 1987-97; US Rep 1997-2005				
24 th Dis Rep	Kenny Marchant (R) 2005-			City Coun 1980-84; mayor 84-86; St Rep 87-04				
25 th Dis Rep	Lloyd Doggett (D) 1995- St Sen 73-85; D nom US Sen 84; TX Sup Ct 89-9						X Sup Ct 89-94	
26 th Dis Rep	Micahel Burgess (R) 2003-							
27 th Dis Rep		Solomon P. Ortiz (D) 1983-			Constable 65-68; Cty Com 68-76 Sherriff 77-83			
28 th Dis Rep	Henry Cuellar	(D) 2005-		St Rep 87-01; TX Sec St 01-02; d nom US Rep 02				
29 th Dis Rep	Gene Green (D) 1993-			St Rep 1973-85; St Sen 1985-93				
30 th Dis Rep	Eddie Bernice Johnson (D) 1991-			St Rep 1973-77; St Sen 1977-91				
31 st Dis Rep	John Carter (R) 2003-	District Judge 1981-2001					
32 nd Dis Rep	Pete Sessions	(R) 1997-		ran for L	IS Rep 1	991, 1994		
State Demographics:			Preside	Presidential Voting:				
Population	23.5 million		1988	Bush	56	Dukakis	43	
	83.2% White		1992	Bush	41	Clinton	37	
	11.7% Black		1996	Dole	49	Clinton	44	
	35.1% Latino		2000	Bush	59	Gore	38	
	3.3% Asian		2004	Bush	61	Kerry	38	
16.2% Poverty Last Voted Democrat in 1976								
Growth Rate (00-06) 12.7%								