## Fact Sheet: Mississippi

Aug/2007

## Statewide Elected Constitutional Officers:

Governor Hayley Barbour (R) 2004-

RNC Chair 1988-96

Lieutenant Governor Amy Tuck (R) 2000-

St Sen 1991-99; Switched from D to R party in 2005

Attorney General Jim Hood (D)

Secretary of State Eric Clark (D) 1996-

St Rep 1983-95

State Treasurer
State Auditor
Com Agriculture

Tate Reeves (R) 2003Phil Bryant (R) 1996Lester Spell (D) 1996-

Mayor of Richland 1975--96

Com Insurance George Dale (D) 1975-

Public Service Commission has 3 members that must come from one of three districts but are elected statewide. 2 of the current members are Democrats and all are men.

## State Legislature 4-year terms both houses (off-year elections):

House: 122 Members Senate: 52 Members
74 Dem/47 Rep 25 Dem/27 Rep
18 women/104 men 4 women/48 men
35 Af-Am/0 Latino 10 Af-Am/0 Latino

## **Congressional Delegation:**

Thad Cochran (R) 1979- US Rep 1973-78
Trent Lott (R) 1989-
US Rep 1973-89 Roger Wicker (R) 1995-
St Sen 1987-94
Bennie Thompson (D) 1993-
Mayor Bolton 73-79
Cty Bd of Sup 80-93 Chip Pickering (R) 1997-

4<sup>th</sup> Dis Rep Gene Taylor (D) 1989-St Sen 83-89; ran for Cong 88



State Demographics:		<u>Presic</u>	Presidential Voting:			
Population	2.9 million	1988	Bush	60	Dukakis	39
	61.2% White	1992	Bush	50	Clinton	41
	36.9% Black	1996	Dole	49	Clinton	44
	1.7% Latino	2000	Bush	58	Gore	41
	0.7% Asian	2004	Bush	59	Kerry	39
	19.3% Poverty	Last Voted Democrat in 1976				
<b>Growth Rate</b>	(00-06) 2.3%					